Clinical competency framework

The framework works as a portfolio of an individuals knowledge, skills and clinical competency. Working your way through the framework will highlight your strengths and identify areas for improvement.  

Two nurses talking and smiling

Using the Framework

1. Assessment

Assessment has three stages: Initial training; Assessment in practice; Verification by line manager.

2. Assessment in practice

Assessment in practice will take place once sufficient competence has been shown under supervised practice.

3. Competency rating scale

This scale identifies the progression from novice (level1) to expert (level 6). It defines level 3 as the minimum standard for competence. Find out more about the competency scale.

4. Framework documents

Read the Clinical competencies for Integrated Community Services 

Read the Clinical competencies for Mental Health Staff

I would like to:

New Core Skills Framework coming soon.

Check the competency rating scale

Related information

Using the Framework guidelines